Lifestart Winners in the NSW Disability Industry Innovation Awards


Lifestart was recently named as finalists in the NSW Disability Industry Innovation Awards in 3 categories out of 6.  The categories in which we were a finalist were:
Excellence in Indigenous programs - Brooke Joy – Recognises the outstanding work of an individual or organisation in promoting the needs of Indigenous people with disability to exercise choice and control
Leadership in community accessibility and inclusion – Recognises innovation in increasing participation and improving access to the community for people with disability and their families. – Lifestart and the Sydney Opera House for the Accessible Baby Proms
Excellence in regional innovation – recognises innovation in service delivery to respond to the needs of people with disability in rural and regional communities – Lifestart Online Therapy
On Thursday 23 February 2017 a number of Lifestart staff attended the awards presentation to hear the outcome of the judging.  The ceremony was held as part of the National Disability Services State Conference.
We were the winner for the Excellence in regional innovation which was very exciting.
In addition we were awarded the Minister’s Award for Excellence which is fantastic recognition of the work done by Lifestart supporting children, young people, families and carers.
Adrian Diggelmann, a Lifestart Director, was present at the awards, representing our Chair, Kathryn Greiner, along with some representatives of the Lifestart team.   It is a great tribute showing us as a leading organisation in supporting children and young people, their families and carers, in their community.  

The Minister’s Award for Excellence  is a recognition of the commitment of all the Lifestart staff who strive to support children and young people to live an ordinary life in the spirit of social inclusion, as well as the Board which provides us guidance and strategic direction.
We acknowledge the achievements of all the finalists in the awards and congratulate the other winners.